The Atlanta Writers Club

Earlier this year, the Atlanta Writers Club held their three annual no-fee creative writing contests for members of their community–one each in fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry. The New Southern Fugitives has partnered with AWC to publish the winners of each of these three contests in next week’s issue of TNSF.

The Atlanta Writers Club was founded in 1914 and hosts the Atlanta Writers Conference twice each year. The conference has been hailed as the “Best Writing Conference in Georgia” by the readers of The Writer magazine in February 2019. AWC also offers their members critique groups, monthly meetings, workshops, and events, and more.

The Winners of the AWC Writing Contest

Natasha Trethewey Prize for Poetry Winner:
Elizabeth Bracken, “Sestina for My Mother”

Rick Bragg Prize for Nonfiction Winner:
Harry Duke, “A View from the

Terry Kay Prize for Fiction Winner:
Albert Norton, Jr, “Stink”

Their work will appear in Volume 2, Issue 21 of The New Southern Fugitives, to be released Wednesday, August 28, 2019. The AWC Writing Contest will reprise in 2020. Click here for more information.

Help us disrupt the Southern literary landscape.